Barnstable County is…Cape Cod.

County Commissioners

Barnstable County logo

The three Barnstable County Commissioners are elected at large and serve four-year staggered terms. Responsibilities include direction of county agencies, preparation of budgets for submission to the Assembly, care of county property and finances, proposing ordinances to the Assembly, and appointment of the County Administrator.

The County Commissioners meet weekly on Wednesdays, and other days as deemed necessary. Pursuant to Article 3 – Executive Branch, Section 3-3 (e), Powers and Duties, of the Home Rule Charter, the County Commissioners file at least on a semi-annual basis a report with the Assembly of Delegates informing them of the financial and administrative condition of the County. Also, the County Commissioners update the Assembly of Delegates on County issues at the Assembly’s regularly scheduled meetings, the first and third Wednesday of each month.

County Commissioner’s Office
P.O. Box 427
3195 Main Street,Superior Courthouse
Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone: 508-375-6648
Fax: 508-362-4136

The County Finance Department, including the County Treasurer, is part of the Commissioners’ office.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Mary Pat Flynn (Falmouth), Chair
Term: 2013 – 2017
Email: mflynn@barnstablecounty.org

Sheila R. Lyons (Wellfleet), Vice-Chair
Term: 2013 – 2017
Email: slyons@barnstablecounty.org

William “Bill” Doherty (Harwich), Commissioner
Term: 2010 – 2014
Email: bdoherty@barnstablecounty.org

ADMINISTRATION
Michael Brillhart
County Administrator
Phone: 508-375-6771
Email: mbrillhart@barnstablecounty.org

Margaret T. Downey
Assistant County Administrator
Phone: 508-375-6636
Email: mdowney@barnstablecounty.org

Justyna Marczak
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 508-375-6646
Email: jmarczak@barnstablecounty.org

FINANCE
E. Mark Zielinski
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Phone: 508-375-6643
Email: mzielinski@barnstablecounty.org

Joanne P. Nelson
County Accountant
Phone: 508-375-6640
Email: jnelson@barnstablecounty.org

Patricia D. Rogers
Assistant Treasurer
Phone: 508-375-6639
Email: trogers@barnstablecounty.org

Kara L. Mahoney
Finance Assistant
Phone: 508-375-6639
Email: kmahoney@barnstablecounty.org

Nancy Cushing
Payroll & Benefits Coordinator
Phone: 508-375-6647
Email: ncushing@barnstablecounty.org

Elaine Davis
Chief Procurement Officer
Phone: 508-375-6637
Email: edavis@barnstablecounty.org

Top