Barnstable County is…Cape Cod.

County Commissioners

Barnstable County logo

The three Barnstable County Commissioners are elected at large and serve four-year staggered terms. Responsibilities include direction of county agencies, preparation of budgets for submission to the Assembly, care of county property and finances, proposing ordinances to the Assembly, and appointment of the County Administrator.

Commissioner Mary Pat Flynn - Vice Chair, Commissioner Sheila Lyons - Chair, Commissioner Leo Cakounes

Commissioner Mary Pat Flynn – Chair, Commissioner Sheila Lyons – Vice Chair, Commissioner Leo Cakounes

The County Commissioners meet weekly on Wednesdays, and other days as deemed necessary. Pursuant to Article 3 – Executive Branch, Section 3-3 (e), Powers and Duties, of the Home Rule Charter, the County Commissioners file at least on a semi-annual basis a report with the Assembly of Delegates informing them of the financial and administrative condition of the County. Also, the County Commissioners update the Assembly of Delegates on County issues at the Assembly’s regularly scheduled meetings, the first and third Wednesday of each month.

County Commissioner’s Office
P.O. Box 427
3195 Main Street,Superior Courthouse
Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone: 508-375-6648
Fax: 508-362-4136

The organization and administration of the Executive Branch of Barnstable County Government is set forth in the Administrative Code.

The County Finance Department, including the County Treasurer, is part of the Commissioners’ office.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Mary Pat Flynn (Falmouth), Chair
Term: 2013 – 2017
Email: mflynn@barnstablecounty.org

Sheila R. Lyons (Wellfleet), Vice – Chair
Term: 2013 – 2017
Email: slyons@barnstablecounty.org

Leo G. Cakounes (Harwich), Commissioner
Term: 2015 – 2019
Email: lcakounes@barnstablecounty.org
Phone: 774-994-3066

 

ADMINISTRATION

Jack Yunits, Jr.
County Administrator
Phone: 508-375-6771
Email: jack.yunits@barnstablecounty.org 

Owen Fletcher
Executive Assistant
Phone: 508-375-6648
Email: owen.fletcher@barnstablecounty.org

Justyna Marczak
Assistant Human Resources Director
Phone: 508-375-6646
Email: jmarczak@barnstablecounty.org

 

FINANCE

Mary McIsaac
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Phone: 508-375-6915
Email: mary.mcisaac@barnstablecounty.org

Joanne P. Nelson
County Accountant
Phone: 508-375-6640
Email: jnelson@barnstablecounty.org

Patricia D. Rogers
Assistant Treasurer
Phone: 508-375-6645
Email: trogers@barnstablecounty.org

Kara Mahoney
Finance Assistant
Phone: 508-375-6639
Email: kmahoney@barnstablecounty.org

Nancy Cushing
Payroll & Benefits Coordinator
Phone: 508-375-6647
Email: ncushing@barnstablecounty.org

Elaine Davis
Chief Procurement Officer
Phone: 508-375-6637
Email: edavis@barnstablecounty.org

Top